I have an issue…not tooth related.

15 Dec

I am a reader.  I am an AVID reader. I am rarely without a book in progress.  September of last year my husband (with help from our ultra generous family) bought me an iPad.  My youngest son was only a couple of months old and it was difficult (not impossible, just difficult) to read and nurse him at the same time.  It was close to impossible to read and pump at the same time.  Being able to hold my reading material and turn a page with one hand was a beautiful thing.  The added bonus from my husband’s perspective was that he was not always tripping over or trying to find a place to store the copious amount of paperbacks in my possession.  I consume books at a startling pace and those objects take up a lot of space.  An added bonus from my perspective as a tired mother of two young sons was that I did not have to change out of my pajamas when I needed a new book.  I could indulge in a little “instant gratification”.  When I finished a book I could purchase another and be reading again in minutes.  That is a serious modern luxury.  Since the iPad moved in with us I have read around 145 books on it.  I say “around” because while there are 127 book in my digital library it doesn’t include the books that I checked out online from the public library, read, and returned.  145 is probably too conservative. That is an impressive number of books in 12 months.  (I doubt it rivals my mother-in-law or my brother-in-law.  From what I know they run circles around my book consumption.)

I am bad at math, but not that bad at math.  I know that since September of last year until now is more than 12 months.  Here is my issue.  I haven’t read a book in 3 months.  I know, right?  (I will amend that statement to say that I haven’t read any fiction in 3 months and fiction is my drug of choice.  I did read “Raising Your Spirited Child” which I highly recommend if you suspect you might have a spirited child.)  Why haven’t I read a novel in 3 months?  There are plenty of good ones out there.  I even have 1 in my library that I haven’t read yet that sounds really interesting.  (“The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss.)  I haven’t started a new book yet because I loved the last ones so much.  This summer I started reading the “Song of Fire and Ice” series by George R. R. Martin.  This series is slightly different from my usual read but not so different as to be out of the realm of possibility for me.  I like fantasy.  That is what it is.  If you haven’t read them then you wouldn’t know that each of the 5 books that are out right now are around 900 pages.  I was invested in this reading experience and it paid me back by being satisfying, dramatic, and engaging.  I enjoyed them enough to now feel paralyzed when it comes to starting a new adventure.  Is that uncommon?  It hasn’t happened to me before.  The series isn’t complete yet.  I hear there are at least 2 more books planned.  Starting a new book almost feels like cheating.  I am not done with these characters.  I want (need) to know what happens. My goodness, I even dressed up our kids like characters from this series.

I know I need to move on.  There was a 5 year gap between books 4 and 5.  I can’t go that long without reading.  I need the escape it provides me.

I am acting like a love-sick teenager or a junkie.  “He broke my heart, but there is chance he will come back.  I won’t look at another boy.  I will wait for him.” or “I don’t want your crack.  I want my heroin.”

Help me out here.  A bit of my reality has been sucking pretty hard lately.  This girl needs a little distraction.

14 Responses to “I have an issue…not tooth related.”

  1. Rhett Gérard Poché December 15, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Well…the last book in The Strain trilogy is currently out AND…if you can wait…THE NEXT BOOK IN THE PASSAGE TRILOGY IS COMING OUT THIS SPRING/SUMMER!!!…I can’t express how excited I am for that. Unfortunately, my time with Fire and Ice is on pause until the summer :(. I think you need to read some Margaret Atwood…maybe Oryx and Crake.

    P.S. You are to blame for my like (sometimes love) of trashy Tom Robbins books.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      The last book in The Strain is tempting. After all, I do have a kid named Ephraim. Plus, I know it is going end.

      I feel no shame for giving you the mental gift (regardless of how damaging it may or may not be) of an affinity for Tom Robbins.

  2. Rhett Gérard Poché December 15, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Also…nerd!

  3. the waiting December 15, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I haven’t read a non-baby book in awhile and that is BAD. I miss being engulfed in a novel. I got a Kindle for Christmas last year and it really is a godsend to readers as is the IPad.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 15, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      I totally went through that phase too! The first few months of my first pregnancy I was obsessed with anything baby related. I read books, joined message boards, scoured the internet… Then I started to get bigger and less energetic. I really needed the mental escape and started reading fiction again. (Plus every David Sedaris book my husband owned.) The second time around, almost from the start I made sure I had a fresh stock of novels within arms reach. I think I almost need fiction like a medication. A pretend world, usually tragic, softens a lot of my real world.

  4. Kitty December 16, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I highly recommend The Name of the Wind (and the second book in the same series – The Wise Man’s Fear) – but the third book won’t be coming out for a while. Not really sure when, actually. I just finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – excellent YA Fantasy read… if you’re in the mood for that sort of thing!

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 17, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      I have heard The Name of the Wind is good…there is the risk I will love it and the second book and then find myself right back where I am now. I do love YA fantasy. I am going to check out this book you mention. Is it a series? Maybe I need something that is not a series so I go in with the expectation of some kind of resolution at the end. I do so love a series though… I suppose this is kind of a ridiculous problem.

  5. Bree December 17, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    My book series addiction is by Diana Gabaldon. The first book is titled Outlander. There are currently 7 books out in the main series and about 4 novellas about a sub character and a couple of short stories published in a couple of different anthologies. Her books run about 800 – 1000 pages each.

  6. purposefullyawkward December 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Hey I have just nominated you for this: http://purposefullyawkward.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/the-versatile-blogger/
    I really like the wide range of things you talk about that always somehow includes my favorite thing in the world: little kids.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 20, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks! The only awards I ever get are the ones I make up for myself…
      You made me smile and I appreciate that a lot.

  7. the waiting January 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Miss your blog! Hope all is well and you’ll be returning soon.

    • Sheila Talbitzer January 17, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      The college where I teach is on the quarter system so my schedule changed dramatically. I have a post half done and will put it up soon. Thanks for the encouragement! I needed it.

  8. MJ, Nonstepmom February 28, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Sounds like interesting reading, I need to get caught up ! (I’m still reading books “old school” ….need to make the jump! )

Leave a Reply

