I can’t keep my teeth in my mouth.

2 Dec

Gross.  They fall out.  They shatter into bits. It happens when I eat. It happens when I smile. They can get knocked out with an intense impact.  They can get knocked out with a soft kiss. Sometimes it is bloody and painful.  Sometimes it is subtle and I don’t notice until I choke on them. Sometimes they leave a big gaping hole.  Sometimes they leave a perfectly smoothed over space. Sometimes it happens in my sleep…all right, it ONLY happens in my sleep.  I keep having the “losing your teeth” dreams.

I have always heard that these kind of dreams are anxiety induced.  Being the intrepid woman I am, I Googled “dreams losing your teeth”.  Huh.  Surprisingly not that helpful and I even have a big thing for symbolism.  I love symbolism in literature, in art, in religion…in basically anything.  I give my Color Photography class an assignment called “The Psychology and Symbolism of Color” and I give my Intermediate Photographic Concepts class an assignment called “One Thousand Words” which is based on the methodology of Dutch Vanitas painting.

So, why weren’t the dream interpretation sites I explored helpful?  Because I couldn’t relate anything they discussed to my lucid life.

Stressed about your job situation? Nope.  I love my job.  It is true that a new academic quarter is starting next week, but that has happened every 3 months for the last five years.  That is not stressful.  It is exciting and I happily anticipate it.

Fear of being impotent?  Being a lady with lady parts the most common understanding of the word impotent doesn’t apply to me. As for the other definition, there really isn’t anything monumental that I am feeling powerless or helpless to control.

Afraid of looking stupid in front of people?  Uh…who isn’t?  Nobody likes to look stupid in front of people, but I do it all the time.  I usually laugh about it and move on.  (That was a gift from my dad.  Thanks dad!)

Stress about looking older/trying to stay young?  I am looking older these days.  That is probably because I am older these days.  So what.  I joke about it but I am most certainly not stressed about it.  My livelihood does not depend on looking youthful and neither do any of my relationships.

Have you lied to somebody?  It would be a lie to say that I don’t lie.  Everybody does.  I can tell a little one without much effort. I can answer the question, “How are you?” with an easy, “Fine” even though I have a throbbing headache and feel like I am going to throw up.  I am not so good at the big lies though.  It started in Kindergarten when I had some unexplained crayons in my backpack.  My dad asked me about them when I was in the bathtub that evening. (I remember this as clear as if it were yesterday.)  I tried to lie and tell him that Ms. Thompson gave them to me.  He knew immediately that was untrue and the next day made me take them back to her and confess.  Since then I have been insecure about my ability to tell a believable lie.  It didn’t stop me from trying as a teenager.  I got in trouble a lot.  So, no I haven’t told any big lies lately.

Lacking power at work or relationship? I actually have a remarkable amount of “power” at work.  I was hired  because it was believed I could do the job well and I have the freedom to design my courses how I think they should be to best serve my students.  As far as my relationships are concerned, they are all very healthy.  I don’t want “power” in my marriage.  I want equality and that is what I have.  I get along beautifully with my family and my in-laws and so does my husband.  I have the appropriate amount of power over my children.  I parent them…usually effectively.

Money?  Well, we never have any extra, but we are also not starving, naked, or homeless.  We have remarkably generous family members on both sides that help us out when we need it.

Truth be told, my dental health has been on a downward spiral since my second son was conceived.  In the last two years I have had 3 cavities, 2 root canals, 2 broken teeth, 3 crowns, 2 infections, and my jaw has been out of alignment 3+ times (which really really hurts).

Even Sigmund Freud said, “Sometimes is a cigar is just a cigar.”

I just made an appointment with the dentist.

12 Responses to “I can’t keep my teeth in my mouth.”

  1. Christy December 2, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Haha! I realized that it was a dream right away. Your the third friend in the last month who has mentioned this. One more thing it could symbolize is a transition in life. Since your a mom it could also be about the kids even though it is your teeth. Since kids are constantly growing/changing it is common for moms to have this dream.
    P.S. The Vanitas project is still my favorite project ever!

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 2, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      I love the Vanitas project too! I still give it every quarter.

  2. the waiting December 2, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I never see myself in the traditional dream interpretations either, although I sometimes want to because then maybe I could glean some meaning into them. But I think my brain is just kind of crazy and random so my dreams can’t really tell me anything I don’t already know.

    Great post.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 2, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      I REALLY wanted to connect some profound meaning to these dreams. Like I said, I love (almost to an unhealthy degree) symbolism. I love the idea of “talking to myself in a coded way about important matters”. Alas, it was not meant to be…this time!

  3. becomingcliche December 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Sometimes a dream about losing our teeth is a message from our dentist. It comes in the little receivers that they call “fillings.” It’s like mind control but with more toothpaste.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 2, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      I fear that may be the case. Just today my jaw slipped again (after I had the dreams for a couple of nights and had started writing this post, but before I made the appointment). Maybe my dentist is sinister and has given me fillings that are programed not only given me the broken teeth dreams but will also give me pain if I don’t call for an appointment in a reasonable time frame.

  4. Miss Demure Restraint December 7, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    I just love dreams. I think they can be more stressful than anything that may cause them.

    Good plan, funny post.

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 15, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      I thought that too…until my dreams came true…and not in a good way.

  5. oopsie23 December 8, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I totally have had those teeth falling out dreams my WHOLE life…they haven’t happened in a while, which is nice because, HOLY CRAP, if I wasn’t experiencing anxiety about something BEFORE, I certainly am after one of those dreams. The last one was quite interesting and ended in me scooping up all of my teeth and planting them in a garden in my front yard. Awesome!

    • Sheila Talbitzer December 15, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      Did those teeth plants ever sprout? I could really use one about now.

  6. 18k gold chains June 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    An cool blog post right there mate . Cheers for the post !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t mock my dreams. They might KILL you. « Sheila Talbitzer - December 9, 2011

    […] Friday I wrote a little post about these recurrent “teeth falling out” dreams called I can’t keep my teeth in my mouth.  Somewhere near the end of the comments I responded to a remark made by BecomingCliche where I […]

Leave a Reply

