My baby will make you uncomfortable and I might laugh.

3 Nov

There are few things you should know about Ephraim before I explain the title of this post.

1) He only smiles if he is really feeling it.  This particular model of baby did not come with the “Auto-Smile” feature.  It did come with a state-of-the-art “Poker Face/ Blank Stare” factory installed.

2) He talks and laughs a lot, but usually only at home.  If we are in public he will only say a few things and normally only to me, his brother, or his daddy.  (Grandma, Mimi, Aunts, Uncles, and cousins too if they are around.)

3) He is at the age where he is interested in the world but is still leery of unfamiliar adults.  He wants to look, taste, and touch everything.  He does not want to have a conversation with strangers.

4) He is a momma’s boy.

Ephraim is cute.  He can’t help it.  One of his favorite words is “wow”.  He says it all the time.  When we are out at the grocery store or a restaurant he will point at something he thinks is interesting and say it very dramatically.  He will also stare at people.  I understand how this could be confusing to people who don’t know him.  He is cute, he obviously talks a little, and he makes eye contact.  It would be natural to talk to this little guy.  The thing is, he doesn’t want to talk to you.  Look at you? Yes.  Talk to you? Nope.

This is how it goes down.  A stranger (usually one he is staring at) will try to engage him.  He will run to me to be picked up.  I always oblige.  Safe in mommy’s arms, the stranger assumes he will respond to them.  Not going to happen.  He will continue the poker face.  If the person persists, seemingly out of nowhere he will plunge his arm down the front of my shirt and nestle his hand between my breasts…still giving the stranger a blank stare.  The change in expression on the person’s face is typically so pronounced I have a hard time not laughing.  I feel like I can see their internal debate.  Do I continue to try to talk to this baby who is giving me this blank stare with his hand shoved down his mother’s shirt or do I just leave?  It generally ends with a nervous smile and hasty “have a good day”.  If you are going to make Ephraim uncomfortable he is going to give it right back to you.

5 Responses to “My baby will make you uncomfortable and I might laugh.”

  1. Lady Sue November 3, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    You have just described my middle son to a tee. As it turned out at the age of 5 was finally diagnosed with Aspergers.Syndrome. He was a serious child since birth and a mums boy as well lol. He ended up growing into a bright young man who loves life and fun. Thanks for bringing that memory back it seemed so very long ago.

    • sheilatalbitzer November 3, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      I would have never guessed that my boys slightly odd behavior would bring back a pleasant memory for someone. Nice. It was my pleasure.

  2. Ibrahim Asghar November 5, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    I thoroughly enjoyed this post. His defense mechanism is top notch haha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Living with Aspergers Syndrome « Spot of fun with a Dash of Serious - November 3, 2011

    […] by Lady Sue I tend to browse through other blogs, I read a great blog the other night Titled My baby will make you uncomfortable and I might laugh. This blog brought back some memories for me. My middle son was exactly the same. he would give […]

Leave a Reply

