Walk away. You are not my friend.

2 Nov

I am all about a Montessori education for my little ones.  It may be expensive, but so far it has been totally worth the amount of mac n’ cheese we have had to eat for dinner over the last 3 years.

Leave it to my son to warp their well-intentioned language.

At school every student is called a friend instead of classmate or peer or whatever.  During specified times each friend chooses “work” and takes it to a table or gets out a rug to work on the floor.  If another student would like join them they must ask permission.  The one working has the option to say ‘yes’ or to say ‘no’.  If they say ‘no’ the other student may stay and observe with “watching hands” meaning they can look but cannot touch.  If the one working does not want to be observed they are taught to say, “No thank you, please walk away.” in a calm polite voice.

Over time that language has made its way home…with less sweetness.  A lot less sweetness.

When I say something Alastair disagrees with I am met with an angry expression and a very menacing “walk away!”.  The implied “if you don’t leave now I might explode” was amusing coming from my angel-faced 4-year-old and the first couple of times I garnered this response I thought it was funny.   Not so much anymore…especially since he has now added, “you are not my friend” to his communiqué.

So, Alastair, you are correct.  I am not your friend.  I am your mother and that, my dear, is a time-out.

4 Responses to “Walk away. You are not my friend.”

  1. becomingcliche November 2, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Oh, how quickly they learn to twist our words!

    • sheilatalbitzer November 2, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

      You are not kidding. Alastair tried for awhile to give me a time-out. We give 1 minute for every year of age so I would say, “Great, I will be back in 37 minutes.”. Once he realized I would relish 37 minutes alone he stopped.

  2. Rant Rave Write November 8, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    This is GREAT! I too, have a little one “reinventing” the Montessori method to suit his own needs. This morning it was “cleaning” his space by sweeping his arm across the table and knocking all the cat food cans to the floor. There was a standoff there. Thanks for the laugh!

    • sheilatalbitzer November 9, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      I feel like I do everything I can at home to reinforce what they do at school and yet at home I can’t get the boy to do even half of what comes second nature at school. It drives me nuts!

Leave a Reply

